Follow Us!

Most Read

Meet Kevin

My name is Kevin. I am 28 and I live in the Mussertown neighborhood. To know me you must first know that my father was a Swiss-German Mennonite church planting pastor's son from rural Ohio and that my mother was a Luo-Suba Mennonite church planting bishop's daughter from rural Tanzania. I was born in Harrisonburg, VA but lived in Lancaster from 1 year old until I graduated from high school. I went to Eastern Mennonite University back in Harrisonburg where I studied Justice, Peace, and Conflict Studies but spent most of my four years in the black box of the theater department.

(deep breath)

I then spent a year living in San Francisco volunteering with Mennonite Voluntary Service working with Pace e Bene Nonviolence Service. There I met my eventual wife (she lived in the same group house). So I moved back to Lancaster, she moved to Philly, and eventually we married....hmm, what else should you know? Oh, I graduate from Seminary in May. I still love theater. I still am interested in peace. And I love Lancaster. Hope to see you around it.

I hold several positions. Among them: Pastoral Intern at James Street Mennonite Church, cashier at the Cokesbury Bookstore, board member at ASSETS/Lancaster and co-founder/creative writer at doplic.com.

Three people now living I would like to have lunch with: Someone from the world's most remote ethnic group (do I get a translator without making that #2?), Desmond Tutu and Grand Ayatollah Khamenei

The cause I most believe in is... the exchange and understanding of thoughts and ideas

Name three things on your bucket list.

Raise children to love life and appreciate the ability to be guided by valuing the experience over the accumulation.

To live in another country (preferably a Global South "developing" nation) for at least a few consecutive years.

To publish (novels, plays, whatever...as long as it's creative fiction)

What did you want to be when you grew up? I've just always wanted to explore various ways of telling the compelling stories of common individuals creatively. Theater, Ministry, Short Stories, Film, Cooking.

My greatest accomplishment is...Honestly? Marrying my wife...and I don't mean to be cheesy but I'm never going to top it.

My unfulfilled ambition: Win a bowling league or tournament.

Three words to describe me: Energetic, Humorous, Personable.

Tell me something about you that most people don't know. I have not won the Pulitzer Prize...yet...

What is the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning? "Dude, cat...stop licking my nose....dude, dog, stop licking my toes."

What's the farthest-away place you've been? South Africa

What do you think Lancaster will be like in 10 years? I believe it will be the third most desirable city in PA...no scratch that. Move aside Pittsburgh. Move aside Philadelphia. Lancaster will be the #1 in demand PA city to live.

Grabbing a bite in Lancaster with - $5, $10, $30 – Where (and what)

$5 – I'm going to Brisas Del Caribe on East King Street and getting a Jamaican Meat Patty, an Empanadilla, and possibly a drink plus I still have money to tip like all good humans should do.

$10 – Definitely heading in town to Sa La Thai and enjoying that incredible Lunch Special. I mean I get an app, entree, and a soup for under 10? Everything's good but I always get the chicken coconut soup (I find God again everytime I have it), probably Pad Thai Tofu and surprise me on the appetizer.

$30 – I am most excited about this one. For $30 I am taking my two best friends to Addisu Ethiopian Restaurant on Dillerville Road. Shared combo platter, something for everyone, and the neatest and most authentic way to have coffee brewed right at your table! Just writing this made me hungry for it and we were just there for Valentine's Day this year!

What are the best aspects of your job? In all of my jobs I get to interact with people, listen to their needs and wants and hopes and dreams and help them find ways to enjoy and live life more fully. There's no better way to live and work.

Would you describe yourself as introverted or extroverted? I'm extroverted from the moment I wake up until the moment everyone goes to sleep, then I stay up til 3 or 4 am being introverted by myself and loving it.

Coffee shop drink of choice: Black Pekoe Tea (especially if a Kenyan or Tanzanian variety)

What music are you listening to now? Lowkey (Kareem Dennis), a British musician of Iraqi and English descent.

What should they have taught you in school but didn't? That the risk of KNOWING history is that you are tempted to repeat it. Live originally, dream innovatively, and let your passions not someone else's practicalities be your guide.

Best advice from your parents: "whatever you choose to do with your life make sure it helps people."

Finish this sentence: If there is one thing life has taught me it is...never waste it with worry, never squander taking it too seriously, and never miss out by going to bed too early.

Lancaster City Living – Lancaster PA