Most Read

Lamparter's Glue Factory is the only substantial development indicated by the time of Roe and Colby's 1874 city map. An extensive grid of streets, all shown in dashed lines indicating that they were not yet built, is shown on the Board of Trade's Map of the City of Lancaster of 1887. The only substantial additions to the area by the time of the 1899 Atlas were the creation of Greenwood Cemetery (1896) and the expansion of Woodward Hill Cemetery.

The two most prominent features of Conestoga Heights are its two large cemeteries, Woodward Hill and Greenwood. These outstanding man-made landscapes complement the gently rolling land bounding the Conestoga to form many picturesque settings.

Woodward Hill Cemetery is one of Lancaster's two Victorian era "rural" cemeteries (the other being The Lancaster Cemetery). There are more than 750 markers, enclosures, tombs and mausoleums on the site, which encompasses approximately thirty-two acres on a rolling hillside. The focal point of its cursive lanes is a brick, Gothic-style funerary chapel with lancet doors and windows, now used for storage. There are many fine old trees and other landscaping elements.

On 7 October 1849, the vestry of Trinity Lutheran Church moved to buy ground for a new burial ground. A committee was appointed in November to purchase the land, which was accomplished shortly thereafter. Twelve and one-half acres were purchased from Emmanuel Carpenter Reigart. Nine Trustees were elected on 4 November 1850. On 25 January 1851, it was moved that the cemetery become a corporation with stockholders and the transition was completed on February 2, 1852.

Conestoga Heights Part III

Lancaster City Living – Lancaster PA